New Minority Leaders in Government

Photo from Mauree Turners Campaign: OK House District 99

Photo from Mauree Turner’s Campaign: OK House District 99

Margaux White '23, Op-Ed Editor

The long-anticipated election of 2020 has become a historical event. In the midst of a global pandemic, this election has resulted in remarkable improvements of diversity of government leaders. Many of these new elected or reelected officials add a new point of representation to minority groups. 


For hundreds of years, minorities have been underrepresented and even unable to participate in politics, making 2020 a historical moment for American politics and the equal rights movement.


The following includes a list of newly elected or re elected government officials that have made historical change by their nomination.


Mauree Turner in Oklahoma– First non-binary, muslim, black state legislater. (Pictured on the right)


David Cicilline in Rhode Island– Only open LGBTQ+ member in the House of Representatives


Chris Pappas in New HampshireHe is the first openly-gay person to represent New Hampshire


Angie Craig in Minnesota The first openly lesbian mother to be elected to Congress, the first woman to be elected in Minnesota’s 2nd district, and the first openly gay person elected to Congress from Minnesota.


Mark Takano in California– The first openly gay person of Asian descent in Congress


Sharice Davids in Kansas– The first out LGBTQ person elected to Congress from Kansas, and as one of the first Native American women elected to Congress.


Mondaire Jones in New York– The first gay black man elected to congress.


Ritchie Torres in New York– Also, The first gay black man elected to congress.


Cori Bush in Missouri– Missouri’s first black congresswoman. 


Ilhan Omar–  First Somali American re-elected to the U.S. Congress, also a hijabi.


Ayanna Pressley in Massachusetts– The first black woman elected to the Boston City Council and the first black woman elected to Congress from Massachusetts


Rashida Tlaib–  The first woman of Palestinian descent in Congress, the first Muslim woman to serve in the Michigan legislature, and one of the first two Muslim women elected to Congress.


Sarah McBride in Delaware– The first transgender state senator in the country, making her the highest-ranking transgender official in United States history.


Taylor Small in Vermont–  Vermont’s first openly transgender legislator, and the fifth in the nation.


Stephanie Byers in Kansas–  The first openly transgender Native American person elected to office in America. 


Zohran Kwame Mamdani in New York– The first South Asian candidate to win the New York State Assembly seat.


Iman Jodeh in Colorado– The first Muslim lawmaker in Colorodo.


Christopher Benjamin in Florida–  The first Muslim elected to be elected to the Florida legislature.


Madinah Wilson-Anton in Delaware– The first practicing Muslim elected to Delaware’s State Legislature.


Samba Baldeh in Wisconsin– The first African-American to be elected to the Wisconsin legislature.

Marilyn Strickland in Washington– The first Korean-American congresswoman.

Photo from Mauree Turner’s Campaign: OK House District 99